A Quick Thought…

For the past few weeks, I’ll be honest, I feel like I’ve lost my drive to write. Probably a feeling that many writers have felt at one time or another. Since my publisher announced that it is declaring bankruptcy, I’ve felt a great deal of anger, dejection and a little depression. My confidence has been lacking and my drive to continue has been weak. This set back literally has set me back a year at least in my writing career (maybe more), even if I can find my footing and land a legit publisher. Yet, the drive to even search hasn’t been there for me. 

I realize that my readership hasn’t suffered too much by my lack of weekly blogs, (I do apologize for the gaps in posts for those keeping track)  but at the moment I’m abiding by an old proverb: Silence often speaks volumes. Sometimes the best thing to say is nothing at all. Perhaps something more profound will strike me next week. For now, here’s a few quotes to consider about the importance of silence. 

“The right word may be effective, but no word was ever as effective as a rightly timed pause.” -Mark Twain

“Remember not only to say the right thing in the right place, but far more difficult still, to leave unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment.”
-Benjamin Franklin

“Speak only if it improves upon the silence.” -Mahatma Gandhi

“Even a fool, when he keeps silent, is considered wise; When he closes his lips, he is considered prudent.” (Proverbs‬ ‭17:28‬ ‭NASB‬‬)

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.

6 thoughts on “A Quick Thought…”

Leave a Reply

