This is just my day job. 

It’s Monday again. The weekend is over and the alarm clock is shouting our name. We see to our typical hygienic routine, floor our commuter vehicle, punch the clock, and settle in for another week. 

If you’re reading this, you probably see yourself in the paragraph above. The sad question is: how many times have you heard someone say this? You may have even heard it coming from your own lips. Have you ever thought about the meaning behind this simple phrase? 

Here are some possible meanings:

1. This job is not my passion, but I’m fond of not starving. 

  
2. This job is sucking the life out of me, but sleeping on a park bench hurts my back.    

3. I went to college to be a writer, but sadly the world would rather I work retail instead.   

4. I’m currently serving my time in this mindless job, but I still have hope that one day…

  

Sometimes the best way to deal with a bad situation is to change your attitude. Yes your current job isn’t your end goal, but what if your current job is preparing you for the day you finally get that dream job. 

Consider this verse:

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.”(Colossians‬ ‭3:23-24‬ ‭NASB‬‬)

This verse brings new meaning to your mediocre job. Anything and everything we do should be done in such a manner as to bring God glory. Even mindless monotony should be done with our hearts and attitudes turned towards him. 

I can hear the protests already. Dude, it’s Monday! Why hit on something so heavy on this of all days!

In Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis writes:

“I am sure that God keeps no one waiting unless he sees that it is good for him to wait. When you do enter your room, you will find that the long wait has done you some kind of good which you would not have had otherwise.” I took great comfort in knowing that although my situation may not have felt ideal or even hopeful, God was using it for good in my life. I tried to use this understanding to grow in faith and patience.”

I know it’s hard, believe me, but remember that God has you at that job for a reason. Make the choice to seek Him and find peace in His will for your life. 

  

Happy Monday!!

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.