A Quick Thought

I actually wrote about this a while back, but somehow life’s lessons continue to revisit me. 

I’m currently waiting to hear back from my publisher’s editing team, which means my efforts toward publishing my new novel have stalled as I wait to hear from them. Although I want them to do a thorough job, waiting is not something I am particularly good at. 

I find that when I am forced to wait, I turn to my faith in Jesus Christ for solace and peace. The Bible says, in Psalms 27:14, “Wait for the Lord; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.” (NASB) It is a constant struggle to wait on God, as our human nature tells us that we should do things our way; that our timing is best and that  God is constantly late. I just have to keep reminding myself that God is all knowing and as Jeremiah 29:11 states, “For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” As hard as it is to wait, I’d rather walk with the Lord, than try to get out in front of Him. God’s plan for each of us is perfect and, though we may become anxious and frustrated, remember that it is always worth the wait.

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.