Holiday Shopping

If there is one thing I truly despise about Christmas it would be the shopping. Oh I love the other stuff: sweets and holiday ham, family gatherings and church events, carols and holiday cheer, and even the ever increasing number of Christmas specials on TV. I am no Ebenezer Scrooge by any means, but holiday shopping brings out the “bah humbug” in this guy!

At other times of the year I avoid the malls on principle, but when the mad dash begins after Thanksgiving I make sure to avoid any and every attempt to venture out into the stores. Cyber Monday and early shopping have been my greatest allies in this endeavor, but this year all was for naught. Despite best laid plans and intentions, I was forced to embark on a quest for a particular gift unavailable (for a decent price) at any other time.

Yet go did I into the jaws of the beast; and escaped, though not unscathed, with my treasure to bestow upon my beloved. If effort counts in gift giving, then this gift is most precious. Wrapped in ribbon and bows, which she will rip off most savagely. The box will open and the look of joy and happiness that will break across her beautiful face will make it all worth it…right?

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.