Generic Construction Worker

“One day, a talented lass or fellow, a special one with face of yellow, will make the Piece of Resistance found from its hiding refuge underground, and with a noble army at the helm, this Master Builder will thwart the Kragle and save the realm, and be the greatest, most interesting, most important person of all times. All this is true because it rhymes.”  – Vitruvius (Lego Movie)

When I was younger, there was nothing I loved more than spending an afternoon playing/building with Legos. From castles to spaceships, I loved it all. As I grew up, the desire to build never diminished; only the time that I could allot changed. So when they came out with the Lego Movie last year, I had to go see it. I dragged my wife to the theater and experienced Lego magic; though I think my wife had a slightly less life-altering experience.

The choice of the “generic construction worker” desperately trying to find his place in the world speaks to a wide audience.

How many times have you felt like no one at work knows or even cares to know you? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked in to work and wondered if anyone would notice if I didn’t show up and I’m probably not the only one.

How many times would you have given anything to just be included in the group?


(http://cache.lego.com/r/www/r/movie/-/media/franchises/the%20lego%20movie/explore/downloads/touts/emmetconstruction.jpg?l.r2=-306336529)

How many times have you wished you were “The Special”?

For those of you who’ve never seen the Lego Movie, I would definitely recommend it; especially to those of you who enjoyed afternoons spent creating and building with those blessed interlocking blocks.

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.