Only At The Doctors Office

An ode to an “ignorant” receptionist

I address thee, who hideth behind her frosted-glass window. Harken! Why dost thou maketh me terry so long? The waiting room lies empty, save myself, yet I still am made to linger here with growing frustration. Fifteen minutes, thirty, forty-five, an hour. Finally, I venture back to your window to inquire about the delay. You apologize. You say they didn’t know I was here. I say that I checked in with you when I arrived, yet you say you didn’t know. You say to sit back down and the doctor will hasten shortly. I obey, but wonder how long will the wait last… Why is my time so valueless?

So, this morning I arrived several minutes prior to my appointment time, checked in with the receptionist, sat down in a comfortable chair and waited…and waited…and waited… Sound familiar? It happens every time I go to the doctor, no matter who the doctor is or why I’m there. It’s always the same, and I’m sure anyone reading this knows exactly what I’m talking about. Only at the doctor’s office are you expected to wait without any explanation. If a waiter or waitress made you wait on your food, he or she would face the repercussions of a bad tip. If a pharmacist made you wait or “forgot” to fill your prescription, you’d probably find a new pharmacy. Yet with doctors, they expect you on time and then make you wait and wait as their appointments fall further and further behind. Now that wouldn’t be so bad if the receptionist would at least keep you informed about delays, but no. You must remain ignorant in the purgatory of the doctor’s office, waiting for your turn to be seen. It’s maddening!!

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.

2 thoughts on “Only At The Doctors Office”

Comments are closed.