REJECTED

He sat staring at the computer screen; the most recent email was pulled up and glaring back at him. He’d read the same line over and over again: “Thank you for the opportunity to read your [story]. Unfortunately, your story isn’t quite what we’re looking for right now.” Those soul crushing words that quantified all of his hard work and creativity into a couple of sentences. He slumped back in his chair; his mind transitioning from one despairing thought to another. Maybe the desire to become an author was just another misguided dream. He looked up and as if in answer to the question whispered in his mind, he shook his head defiantly.

He reached for the keyboard and punched up the next publisher on his list, unwilling to be deterred. Maybe this is what separated authors from everyone else: the willingness to keep seeking a “Yes” in spite of all the “No’s”.

Got my first rejection letter this past week for one of my short stories, but I’m not letting it dash my hopes. Pressing on for the prize. For those of you who are looking for the continuation of Rad the Pawn, I’m sorry but I’m having to push it off for now. I will get back to it so please keep visiting my blog.

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.

5 thoughts on “REJECTED”

  1. Very well written! I definitely believe that’s what Seperates the published authors from the unpublished one – perseverance. It’s the same writing a story, not every word is gold but they can be with perseverance. I just sent out a round of submissions for agents today and reading a story like this has reminded me of what it may take. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would never call myself an author because I can’t write as well as you! I’m a story-teller and just love telling true stories about my world. Now you … umm … definitely an author! Im gonna enjoy following you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the encouragement. I honestly don’t feel good about my authorship prospects most days. But as to your assertion of not being an author, I simply encourage you to continuing telling your stories. An author is simply a storyteller whose words are publish and available to the masses.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read 3 books a week, and believe me, you are good! Don’t give up on what you love – writing and enjoy blogging. Much of my research tells me that blogging is very slow to start off with, and it takes about 1 year to establish yourself. The best way to get followers is to “engage” with people (which is what we are doing today) and Follow each others blogs. I “Follow” the blogs I like. Hopefully they follow me back. And if not, that’s ok. I also “Follow” every blogger that Follows me first, and I make a point of reading a few of their posts that day and commenting. There’s no rules, but really, we build up relationships on here and support and encourage each other. I hit “100” Followers last week. And now, I will be Reblogging some of my favourite posts from my Followers to encourage my Followers to follow them if they like their writing. My reason is it absolutely made my day when people reposted my writing, and I want to pay it forward and bless other bloggers too. Enjoy your journey, and God bless x

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.