I Can Still See

About a month ago I got a corneal abrasion on my right eye. As an update, I’ve just recently been diagnosed with Recurrent Erosion Syndrome due to the original injury. Just last week I had another re-occurrence which caused more pain than the first time. Some of the most debilitating pain I’ve ever experienced. I actually missed a few days work because I could not open my eyes. Thankfully I was able to get in for an appointment with my ophthalmologist and after a week of putting ointment in my eye, the pain has subsided and my vision is returning. Though I no longer have 20/20 vision and must now purchase glasses, I thank God that He is healing my eye and that my injury was not any worse. In my humble opinion, there is nothing quite like the fear of losing one’s ability to see. Yet in spite of all that has happened, I count my blessing and know that my God is watching over me. Even if I am to lose my vision entirely, He is still in control and will sustain me through it all.

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.