Is it really worth it?

The most precious commodity given to us on this earth is time. Fairly often, I stop and consider all my efforts and try to gauge what the final outcome of those efforts. For example: how much am I contributing at my job and am I compensated enough for my time and effort. Am I investing enough in my family, my friends, my church? I think about all these things quite often, but there are things that can be even more significant that I frequently overlook. Things like: have I forgiven someone for what they did, or am I still hanging on to hurt feelings? What have I done to encourage reconciliation? Are there people in my life for whom I’ve failed to pray?

Even as I am writing this blog, I am overwhelmed with the fact that there are people who have hurt me and people that I have hurt with whom I have never tried to reconcile. Sometimes it just seems easier to hold on to the hurt feelings, but is it really worth it?

Check out what Jesus says in Matthew 5:23-24, “Therefore if you are presenting your offering at the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your offering there before the altar and go; first be reconciled to your brother, and then come and present your offering.

Jesus commands us to forgive and be reconciled with each other even before we worship Him. Why? Check out what He says in the next chapter (Matthew 6:14-15): “For if you forgive others for their transgressions, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive your transgressions.” We are commanded to forgive; pure and simple. If we fail to forgive others, then we are disobeying God (i.e. sinning against Him). Do you ever feel distant from God, but you’ve confessed all your sins? Maybe the problem is that you still haven’t forgiven someone, or maybe you haven’t tried to reconcile with someone you’ve wronged.

Okay, I didn’t mean for this to become a sermon or Sunday School lesson, but I am burdened by this topic. I hope that if you are reading this blog, it has made you consider any lack of forgiveness and reconciliation in your own life. I truly hope you ask yourself: “Is it really worth it?”

(Next week I am taking a break, but stay tuned because I am working on a short story that will be published here over the next several weeks!)

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.