Waiting for a Particular Moment

I sat there at my desk, the anticipation building in my young mind. The moment was quickly approaching; it was only one minute away. I stared at the clock as the teacher continued to talk despite the class’s limited attention to anything she said. None of it mattered as I watched the second hand steadily making its way around the clock face. Fifteen seconds…I had waited all morning, listening to the teacher go on and on about books and numbers until my brain literally ached from it. Ten seconds…it always seemed the closer it got, the longer it seemed to take the clock to tick off each second. Five seconds…every muscle in my body began to tense up, like a cat ready to pounce on its unsuspecting prey. The teacher seemed unconcerned as I silently counted off the remaining seconds. Three…two…one…just when I thought I could not endure one more factoid of information, the clock struck noon and the lunch bell rang. The magnificent melodious sound of the lunch bell, which signaled my release from state mandated incarceration and release to the food and fun of the cafeteria…and the glories of the playground.

Waiting for a particular moment sometimes seems like an eternity; as if time itself has been stretched to an unbearable length, turning hours into years. No one likes to wait, but some things are harder to wait for than others. One of the hardest things to wait on is God. So many times we pray for people, or events, or needs and yet God seems to remain silent. People extend well meant platitudes, yet it often brings little comfort for the person waiting. The only solace you can find when waiting is to learn to trust. The Bible says, in Psalms 27:14, “Wait for the Lord; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.” (NASB) It is a constant struggle to wait on God, as our human nature tells us that we should do things our way; that our timing is best and the God is constantly late. I just have to keep reminding myself that God is all knowing and as Jeremiah 29:11 states, “For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” As hard as it is to wait, I’d rather walk with the Lord, than try to get out in front of Him. I’m not trying to be preachy, but rather to encourage all who read this of God’s grace and His love for you. Even when it seems He’s ignoring you or forgotten you, just remember His promises and His love. “Wait for the Lord; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.” God’s moments are perfectly planned, and worth the wait.

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.