I Can See!

Being able to see…it’s something most of us take for granted. Every morning we open our eyes the entire world of light greets us. The sunshine pours in through our windows. The light from a billion light bulbs follows us throughout the day and into the night. When we lay our heads down to sleep, not once do we express gratitude for the visions of the day nor are we worried about the possibility that our sight may not return the following morning.

All of this preamble to say my attitude toward my sight has changed dramatically. Why you may ask…well I’ve had a small wake-up call in the form of a corneal abrasion. Again you may ask: what’s a corneal abrasion? Imagine skinning your knee or scraping your arm, then image that happening to the outside of your eye. I still shudder at the very thought. Suffice to say, my world was shaken as I sat there, one eye perfectly fine, the other throbbing in pain. In between them both, my mind was racing, full of dread and worry that I’d damaged my eye beyond repair.

That was Monday. It’s been two days and most of my sight has returned, though still blurry. To be honest, the dread is still there that I will never regain my perfect 20/20 vision, but I find solace in the fact that God is still in control. The pain and worry of this life is nothing compared to the glory that awaits those who put their faith in Jesus Christ.

Too preachy? Well, I don’t apologize for my faith and I hope, if anything, that this blog post does not make you start wearing protective lenses and bubble wrapping yourselves. I simply wish to encourage you to remember to thank God for the ability to see when you open your eyes tomorrow morning.

Author: RSGullett

R. S. Gullett is a proud alumni of Stephen F. Austin State University and currently teaches United States history at a community college in Houston, Texas. As a historian, he loves to mingle the historical with the fantastical and places an emphasis on faith in all his writing. His faith in Jesus Christ is very important to him and this often becomes evident in his writing. He is not perfect, nor does he pretend to be; but hopes that sharing his faith might inspire others to give their hearts to Christ. He and his wife currently live in Houston, Texas.